November 2007 Priestess of the Forest A Druids Journey

The big news this month is that two of my new books are now available on Amazon.com. (Number three is still in progress and should be out late in 2008 or early 2009 – on Scottish herbs and magic…)

Priestess of the Forest – A Druid Journey

In the tradition of Marion Zimmer Bradley’s Mists of Avalon, Ellen Evert Hopman weaves Druid history and spirituality into an engaging love story. This Bardic teaching tale is set in a fictional third-century Ireland when Christianity is sweeping across the Celtic Isles. During this time of crisis, love blooms between Ethne, a Druid healer, and her patient, a Fennid warrior. Their passionate affair suffers a tragic blow when Ethne is called upon to become the high queen.

Told from the Druid perspective, Hopman recreates the daily life, magical practices, politics, and spiritual lives of the ancient Celts during this historic turning point. Druid holy days, rites, rituals, herbal lore, and more are brought to life in this Celtic fantasy-illuminating Druidic teachings and cultural wisdom.

Notable Features

A historic fantasy that weaves Druidic teachings into a Celtic tale of love Highlights details from Druidic history – daily life, class system, torcs, triskells, and crafts

Features a glossary of significant Celtic/Druidic terms and an interview with the author about modern Druid-ism Suggested sources for further study of Druids throughout history, Druid ritual, and modern Druidism.

ISBN 978-0-7387-1262-8
US $18.95 CAN $21.95
Trade paperback
6 x 9, 360 pp. (with glossary & epilogue)
Available on this site, with a personal signed note.
Your local bookstore
Online from Amazon.com or Llewellyn Worldwide due out February 1, 2008
You can also pre-order book number two which comes out in May, 2008

A Druid’s Herbal – For Sacred Tree Medicine

An in-depth look at the history, herbal uses, and spiritual aspects of the sacred trees in the ancient Celtic Ogham Tree Alphabet.

Details the 20 trees of the ogham alphabet and their therapeutic and magical virtues

Examines the Forest Druid practices associated with each tree as well as the traditional uses in Native American medicine.

Describes the Celtic Fire Festivals and how each tree is featured in these holy days

By the author of A Druid’s Herbal for the Sacred Earth Year (42,000 copies
sold)

The Druids used the ancient Ogham Tree Alphabet to work magic and honor the dead, surrounding each letter with medicinal and spiritual lore. Poets and bards created a secret sign language to describe the letters, each of which is named for a tree or a plant. For centuries this language was only orally transmitted in order to protect its secrets.

Combining her extensive herbal knowledge and keen poetic insight, Ellen Evert Hopman delves deeply into the historic allusions and associations of each of the 20 letters of the Ogham Tree Alphabet. She also examines Native American healing methods for possible clues to the way ancient Europeans may have used these trees as healing agents. Druidic spiritual practices, herbal healing remedies, and plant lore are included for each tree in the alphabet as well as how each is used in traditional rituals such as the Celtic Fire Festivals and other celebrations. Hopman also includes a pronunciation guide for the oghams and information on the divinatory meanings associated with each tree.

Destiny Books / Inner Traditions Bear and Company
ISBN-13: 978-1-59477-230-6
ISBN-10: 1-59477-230-4
$14.95 (CAN       ) Paper
224 pages, 6 x 9
Available at this site, with a personal signed note.
Already available for pre-order from Amazon.com, Inner Traditions Bear and Company and from your local independent book seller!